Enjoy the summer holidays and stay safe.

WHS Archives News 2015-2016

Cancelled - Past Pupils Tag Rugby Blitz.





The annual Past Pupils Association Tag Rugby Blitz takes place on Sunday 26th June in Wilson's. Registration is from 10.30 and the tournament will kick off at 11.30 sharp. Things should be finished by about 3.00pm

There will be a BBQ on the day and the Mullingar Disability Team (The Mullingar Lions) will make a half time appearance.

Anyone who would like to enter a team should contact Olive Butler or Colin Draper. It's 10 euro per person with proceeds going towards sports equipment for the school.



Sports Day Prize Winners 2016.

Prize Winners cr


The good weather made for excellent conditions for the annual Sport’s Day which took place recently at Wilson's Hospital School. Athletic events as well as the fun novelty races were enjoyed by the whole school.


The morning activities ended with a Tug-O-War competition won by Andrew’s team. There was even a competition between the male teachers and sixth year boys, won by the sixth years. The staff  ladies beat the sixth year girls so a draw was declared!


ToW cr


After lunch the day concluded with the presentation of the sports’ prizes watched by a large group of pupil, parents, past pupils, teachers and friends. These prizes reflect the wide range of sports available at Wilson's Hospital School.



Silverware cr


One of the most highly anticipated awards is Athlete of the Year. It is awarded to the pupil who shows a great love for a variety of sports and who also demonstrates true dedication and commitment to sport in general while also encouraging others. Arianna was named Girl Athlete of the Year and Craig was named Boy Athlete of the Year.


CS cr AH cr


Ms B cr SG cr


Special awards are made to Wilsonians who have represented Ireland and today Ms Butler received a school presentation crest for representing Ireland in Mounted Games in 2004.


Ms B 2 cr MS D 2 cr


Presentations were also made to Ms Devaney, Mr Butler and Ms Butler from their teams to thank them for their commitment and dedication throughout the season and to Ms Graham for her work with the school photos.  Mr Draper thanked Mrs Eager for her enthusiasm and support of sport and all types of extra curricular activities in the school; the office staff for co-ordinating transport of all of the teams; Marie in the laundry for looking after the team kits and Mrs Kenny and the catering team for feeding all of the pupils involved.


Crowd 1 cr Crowd 3 cr


This was Mrs Eager’s last Sports Day and she was thanked especially for her involvement in getting the new sports pitches built and her encouragement of the sports and extra curricular events in Wilson’s throughout her 40 years in the school. On behalf of the pupils Alan and Alison presented her with a bunch of flowers. She made an emotional speech about her time in Wilson’s and reminded the pupils of how special each and every one of them are. She wished them every good luck in the future.


Mrs E cr


It was a lovely end to the school year. Congratulations to all participants and prize winners.


Crowd 5 cr Crowd 6 cr


Other prize winners included:


Most Improved Player: Yvonne

Player of the Year: Anna


AMCC cr YC cr


1st & 2nd Year Boys Player of the Year: Thomas

 Junior Boys Player of the Year: Conor

Senior Boys Player of the Year: Daniel

Rosemary Maxwell Eager Cup for Girls Player of the Year: Zara

Andrew Claxton Cup: Darielle


ZB cr DB cr


DMcH cr


TF cr CC cr


Girl’s Player of the Year: Jennifer

Andrew Dolan Shield for Boys Player of the Year: Stephen


SS cr JW cr

Table Tennis:

Junior Player of the Year: Angel

Senior Player of the Year: Tadhg


AN ccr TS ccr


Player of the Year: Aoife 

7s Rugby Captain:

Junior: Evan

Senior: Andrew


Sports Evening Tag Rugby Captain: Ian


SEN 7s cr Jun 7s cr


SE Tag cr

Parents' Council Calendar 2016/17



A notice from Principal, Mrs. Eager:

As you know, the schools' Parents' Council organise a calendar each year to help raise the necessary funds needed for various school activities.  We are currently preparing the 2016/17 calendar and if your business could financially assist us by sponsoring a month or if you know a business that would be interested, (€100 per page- your business will be advertised on that page), please contact one of the following:


Chairman, Ralph Tyrrell (email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) Treasurer, Geraldine Mansfield (email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) Secretary, Gavin Hanahoe (email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

Poetry competition winners.

Many Congratulations and Comhghairdeas Libh to Arlene agus Esther who have won prizes in a poetry competition organised by Windows Publications in association with Cavan County Council Arts and Heritage offices and Cavan Crystal Hotel. This was the 24th National Student Poetry Competition, 2016. The adjudicators Heather Brett & Noel Monahan. Arlene and Esther won categories for their poems in English agus as Gaeilge. Táimid fíor brodúil astu beirt


Cowens cr

Texaco Art Competition

Congratulations to Nicole who was recently presented with a Special Merit  Award in the Cat B Age 14 section of the 62nd Texaco Childern's Art Competition. She also received an award in this competition last year.


NF 2016 cr


083 cr